A product entitlement is deleted when one of the following occurs:
Changing the license server host for a license key file.
- Removing seats from an existing licensed product entitlement.
Deleting product entitlements from a license key file.
When you delete seats or remove products from your certificate-based license files, the entitlement is essentially “put back” or reallocated into your licensing account. You will find that the number of entitled seats in the Create New Licenses tab of your account is incremented by the same number of seats you deleted previously from existing license files.
Before the reallocation of entitlement occurs, you must first agree to an Affidavit of Destruction. This legal agreement is required to ensure the deactivated product entitlements are no longer being used.
The number of allocation operations is recorded for each user. Administrators are allowed to reallocate product entitlements five times per major release. End users are allowed to reallocate product entitlements three times per major release.